Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Like last week’s “Tales Told By Men”, the following conversation starters can be used to add depth and color to NPCs, or as scenario seeds for adventures along the Uncanny Highway of the 1960s and 70s.

Remember that the 1960s were very sexist times, and in many towns single women could not actually sit at a bar and order drinks. In some places, women were prohibited from even entering drinking establishments unless they were accompanied by men. Some bars banned women altogether. By the 1970s, however, most gender-segregated bars were being legally forced to end their discriminatory practices. Of course, along the Uncanny Highway one can’t even be sure that all the patrons of a bar are human!

(d12, d6) The obviously tipsy woman says:

1

d6

I just left my man because…

1

he is cheating on me with his secretary.

2

I caught him with my own sister!

3

I found out he is actually a wanted criminal.

4

he has a whole other family in another state!

5

I found his disgusting collection of “dirty magazines”.

6

he beat me up again, but for the last time.

2

d6

My best friend…

1

wants me to get involved as one of her “distributors”. Somebody else told me its a “pyramid scheme”, but I don’t know.

2

wants me to go to some weird “self-help” seminar in the city.

3

know the number of a guy in the city who helps out women who’ve got a certain kind of problem. You know what I mean.

4

just joined this commune where they share everything. I mean, everything!

5

has been acting really weird lately, like she’s been replaced with a robot or something.

6

has been missing for a week now.

3

d6

Some guy is following me, and…

1

he’s just come into this bar.

2

I don’t think he’s even human.

3

nobody else can see him.

4

I know its because of what I saw.

5

I think he’s that guy who kidnapped all those women.

6

if he keeps it up he’s going to get shot!

4

d6

My family is driving me nuts because…

1

they keep wanting me to have a baby.

2

they want me to quit my job.

3

they want me to get married to some guy I’ve never met.

4

they want me to take my children to “The Festival”. Understand, my family been doing it for a very long time, but I just don’t want to any more.

5

I won’t take in my Grandma, even though she only eats raw meat.

6

my husband won’t loan my loser brother any more money.

5

d6

My child died because

1

he was born without skin. The doctor insists the chemical factory had nothing to do with it.

2

my little boy killed her. Nobody believes me, but I know he’s evil.

3

he wandered off to that old abandoned house.

4

she ran onto the highway.

5

the Satanists killed her, and made it look like an accident.

6

some strange poison gas was released from the military base.

6

d6

I know it sounds crazy, but I think my husband might be

1

a murderer.

2

planning to kill me.

3

a Satanist.

4

an alien.

5

a Soviet agent.

6

married to another woman.

7

d6

I just saw…

1

a man forcing a woman into a car in the parking lot.

2

someone being murdered!

3

a U.F.O.!

4

a werewolf!

5

an angel.

6

my own double!

8

d6

I found Jesus…

1

in women’s prison. But I swear I didn’t put that poison my husband’s drink.

2

after my family died in a gas explosion. Like I told the police, I was out visiting friends, and still feel so guilty.

3

and stopped hooking. Well, mostly.

4

after my boyfriend shot me and left me for dead.

5

after my children went missing.

6

when he stepped out of that U.F.O.

9

d6

I’ve lost…

1

my children, and need someone to help me find them.

2

my memory. How did I get here?

3

my way. Where am I?

4

my purse, and need someone to help me out.

5

a small package wrapped in brown paper. If you find it, don’t shake it.

6

my soul.

10

d6

I know you won’t believe it, but

1

I can read your aura.

2

my dog can speak.

3

my child is the reincarnation of a soldier killed in the Second World War.

4

there’s a puddle of blood and slime in the restroom.

5

I’m actually nobility.

6

I can speak to the dead.

11

d6

It’s funny that

1

my husband actually thinks it was his idea for us to become swingers!

2

nobody believes witches are real anymore.

3

some people think women are weak, because I just killed a man with my bare hands.

4

the P.T.A. thinks I’m a bad parent, with what I know about them!

5

people don’t realize what’s buried under the trailer park.

6

no one sees that Satan is alive and well – and living in this town!

12

d6

I know I shouldn’t think this, but…

1

my kids aren’t really mine at all.

2

maybe it’s a cop that’s responsible for all those body parts they keep finding on the side of the road.

3

I suspect my pastor knows more than he’s telling about those kids who disappeared last week.

4

I don’t think the soldiers that passed through town are even American.

5

I just want to run away from my family and go somewhere, anywhere, else.

6

clowns are sexy.